Pharrell Williams, ‘G I R L’: Track-By-Track Review

 

Image

Producer of the year. Voice of an angel. Who else could I possibly be talking out besides the musical genius himself, Pharrell Williams. And he has graced we humanoids with a new album. Entitled ‘G I R L,’ it’s no surprise this compilation of hits is dedicated to the female persuasion.

“Women,” Mr. Williams recently stated in an interview, “are a phenomenal force in my life and in my career … the cornerstone of existence.”

In short, ‘G I R L’ is a modern man’s celebration of feminism. Pharrell expresses the beauty he finds in women as well as the inspiration that they are to him, but he definitely doesn’t forget to mention all of the extra assets he enjoys about the ladies (if you catch my drift, wink wink nudge nudge).

Image

In all honesty, I think this album can easily be taken the wrong way – just another male artist objectifying women. But if you really listen to it (as I did), I think this one’s different. Pharrell really does appreciate women and all they are capable of, but he’s not sugarcoating things as if he doesn’t like sex, too. (Fair, I’d say.)

Side note: For any of you who know even the slightest thing about me, it’s that I have a perfectly healthy and in no way abnormal infatuation with Pharrell. I mean can we just stand back and look at the man? He’s intellectual, funny, creative, successful, original. His fashion sense is impeccable. (Yeah, I liked his hat. Get over it.) And let’s not forget that he’s just plain good looking. (The man is 40. 40, I SAY. HOW???)

Image

Anyway, when I heard ‘G I R L’ was being streamed on iTunes Radio (hallelujah), I waisted no time in renting some headphones from the j-library, heading to Starbucks for a pick-me-up (nonfat, no whip mocha pls n thx), and checking out the (my) man’s new album. The musical masterpiece is as follows:

Marilyn Monroe. First impression of this song: chart-topper. The album starts off strong with a fresh* sound; the perfect mix of new school beats and old school strings, plus a little dash of funk for some additional flavor. (*By fresh I mean a sound that’s relatively new to my ears… and I’ve heard my fair share of ditties.) In the song, Pharrell discloses he has a diary (aw) that he’s telling his deep, dark secret of how mesmerized he is by this “different girl.” Lacking any real adjectives to describe her, not even iconic women by the likes of Marilyn Monroe, Cleopatra or Joan of Arc can compare to her. (He’s most definitely probably talking about me.) It’s basically Pharrell’s shout out to all the independent, unique ladies out there just doing their thing. Holla.

Brand New. A duet with Justin Timberlake? I think yes. With Pharrell’s production expertise, a raucous, brass-heavy tune, and these two heartthrobs’ vocals intertwined, this song is nothing short of a recipe for success. (And I will take two helpings.) Groovy guitar riffs fade in and out of the melody that are reminiscent of an early Jackson 5 if I dare say so. Yes, just yes.

Image

Hunter. This one has a clean, simple sound packed with its fair share of clever sexual innuendos. “Duck Dynasty’s cool and all / But they got nothin’ on a female’s call / I’m a hunter.” (You witty man, you.) Pharrell is letting you know with this one that he’s on the prowl, and you better believe he’s getting what he wants. Really it’s just an all around fun song that sounds unlike any music you’ll find on the top 40 chart (gross). You’ll have this one on repeat (at least I did).

Gush. By far the most sexually explicit track on the album, but what would an album dedicated to women be without a little sensual seduction, am I right? There’s no hiding Pharrell loves sex, and he gets straight to the point on this one. He admits that although he is fully capable of wining and dining a woman (just like his momma raised him to), he’s just trying to get dirty tonight. (I applaud his honesty.) Might I add he announces his plan to “leave those panties in flames.” Hot. Damn.

Happy. If you don’t love this one, you have no soul. Seriously. If you’re not tapping your toes by the end of this song, look at your life. Look at your choices. (And this is coming from a girl with a black hole for a heart.) This song is catchy to say the least and it gives you all the jubilant feels a human being is capable of feeling. It makes you want to walk down the sidewalk, your faced bathed in sunshine, snapping your fingers. Perhaps a mob of joyful people will even pop out of the bushes behind you and start dancing in sync. Who knows. Anything is possible with this song; it makes life feel limitless. THE WORLD IS YOUR OYSTER, “BECAUSE I’M HAPPY…”Image

Seriously, look how contagious it is.

Image

Come Get It Bae. Featuring Ms. Miley Cyrus, y’all. This song is basically one giant metaphor comparing sex to a motorcycle. “Come get it bae.” Bae, you don’t have to tell me twice. And that’s all I have to say about that one. Vroom, vroom.

Gust of Wind. The world’s favorite robots are back at it. (Pharrell is seriously pulling out all the stops on this album and I’m loving every minute of it.) Daft Punk has landed once again (greetings, earthlings) and they are making their mother planet oh so proud. A fluid haze of strings and an intergalactic chorus all within a song with a mega-70s feel. I just can’t. Another hit for sure.

Image

Lost Queen. (aka my favorite track right here.) This one has an drum-heavy beat plus a modern twist on some tribal humming and I am totally digging the afro-centric vibe. This jam is an ode to all the truly extraordinary women out there. “What planet are you from, girl? / And are there others like you there?” I got the chills. THE CHILLS. 

Know Who You Are. Here’s a duet with Alicia Keys, and I must say, this is the best Madame Keys has sounded in quite some time (in my humble opinion). Pharrell shows he cares about his girl’s feels in this smooth-flowing R&B hit with a hint of reggae. Definitely slowing things down a little bit for this one, but nothing short of wonderful yet again.

It Girl. Last song and the perfect one to sum up the theme of the entire album. Women are beautiful. Women are sexy. Women are inspiring. Women are the bee’s knees, the cat’s meow. Pharrell loves women. I think it’s safe to say Pharrell totally agrees with Beyoncé about the reigning gender. (Who run the world?) 

Hit after hit, ‘G I R L’ is not messing around. Did we really expect anything less from Pharrell? His second solo album (first was In My Mind (2006)) is packed with relentless energy and keeps you hooked from beginning to end. Very rarely do I enjoy every track on a single album, but alas, Pharrell is working some sort of sorcery in his magical studio of his.

‘G I R L’ is set to drop for real March 3, but until then, listen here.

Keep doin’ you, Pharrell. 

Image

Leave a comment