2014 Oscars: Best Dressed

Hear, hear. Tonight marks the 2014 Academy Awards (aka prom for the beautiful and famous where magical things happen like Meryl Streep and Pharrell Williams shimmy simultaneously and Ellen DeGeneres hands you a slice of pizza). Despite the fact they claim the awards are for “films” and “acting,” we all know the pressure is on to be the top fashionista (or fashionisto. I see you, well-dressed fellas) of the night. Now I don’t claim to be an expert not his topic, but I’d like to think I know a little somethin’ somethin’ about what the haps are in the fashion world. So, without further ado, here are my top 10 looks of the evening:

10. Emma Watson

Image

Emma looked simple and chic in Vera Wang. I think I might have favored this one because it’s definitely something I would have picked out (given I had piles of cash lying around from eight Harry Potter movies and Mrs. Wang on speed dial). Although she looked gorgeous, I think she played it a little too safe to make it any higher on my list.

 

9. Sandra Bullock

Image

I don’t care what anyone says. I think my girl Sandy looked damn good tonight. Her Alexander McQueen gown truly embodied the entire feel of the Oscars (glitz, glam, fame, luxury, etc.) and she just looked so put together with her side-swept ‘do. Claps for Sandra.

 

8. Amy Adams

Image

She said she was dressing for herself tonight and, well, I guess it paid off. Looking fab in a flattering Gucci gown, Adams had a timeless look about her — something she can look back on in years to come and not be mortified by (like those blunt, full across bangs you got in seventh grade). You do you, girl.

 

7. Kristen Bell

Image

The trim on her Roberto Cavalli gown was so detailed and intricate. I just can’t. Not to mention she was positively glowing next to hubby Dax Shepard. P.S. Word on the street is that homegirl had a burrito in her clutch, so additional points for that.

 

6. Angelina Jolie

Image

Okay, she is just stunning. I don’t know what else to say. Just kidding, yes I do. With a dazzling smile and a little arm candy (s/o Brad Pitt), Jolie looked drop-dead gorgeous in Elie Saab Haute Couture. That iridescent beadwork — can I get an amen?

 

5. Lupita Nyong’o

Image

LUPITA IS KILLING IT. If this were a list of best dressed for the entire awards season, she’d definitely be the champ. Looking like a princess in this flowing Prada gown (not to mention a beautiful color paired with her flawless skin), Nyong’o secures the number five spot on my list.

 

4. Cate Blanchett

Image

Cate looked sophisticated with a touch of flare in Giorgio Armani. Tbt I’m not sure how she sat down in this masterpiece without being punctured by small flowers, but we must make sacrifices for fashion. As my momma always used to tell me (whilst I complained about how jeans hurt my body), “Sometimes it hurts to be beautiful.”

 

3. Jared Leto

Image

Do I need to explain myself? This man is beautiful. BEAUTIFUL. Leto looked ever-so-dapper in Saint Laurent, and the red velvet bow tie was the perfect pop of color. P.S. All you ladies trying (and failing miserably) at the whole ombré deal, take notes.

 

2. Jennifer Lawrence

Image

Oooh girl, don’t hurt ’em. J-Law did Dior Couture justice in this bright red showstopper. By now, I’m basically over the peplum look, but I can’t complain when it’s done right. Fit her like a glove. Great hair. Didn’t overdo it with the accessories. Classic. Simple. Perfection.

 

1. Kate Hudson

Image

I will be the first to admit that I did not see this one coming at all. Kate came out of the woodwork looking smokin’ hot in Atelier Versace. Not very often do I favor white gowns, but this one was seriously breathtaking. Also, props for taking a risk with the plunging neckline — it’s usually a hit or miss, and Kate hit the nail right on the head. 

Leave a comment